The ICRG recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of research on gambling disorder and responsible gambling with the annual ICRG Scientific Achievement Award. The 2023 award will be presented at the ICRG Conference on Gambling and Addiction on Oct. 9, 2023.

We invite nominations in the following categories:

  • Research investigators at any stage in their career—early stage, mid-career or senior—whose research has made a significant contribution to the knowledge base about gambling disorder and responsible gambling.
  • Educators who have successfully mentored young investigators in the field or have excelled at promoting public awareness and education about gambling disorder and responsible gambling.
  • A recent publication in a scientific, peer-reviewed journal that represents seminal work in the field.

Guidelines for Submitting a Nomination

The nomination package must include the following:

1. Letter of recommendation: A detailed letter describing the worthiness of the nominee or nominated work, specifying the contribution to the field of gambling studies and significance.

2. Curriculum vitae (CV):

  • For individual nominees, include an up-to-date CV
  • For research investigators, include a comprehensive bibliography of the nominee’s publications

3. Publications: For research investigators, submit no more than five scientific publications representative of the nominee’s work. When nominating a publication, include a copy of the published version of the article. The publication must have been published in the same year or the year prior to the nomination.

Submit nomination materials to Christine Reilly ( by Aug. 15, 2023. The selection committee, composed of distinguished scientists in the addictions field, will select the recipient of the 2023 ICRG Scientific Achievement Award. The award will be presented at the awards luncheon during the ICRG conference on Monday, Oct. 9, 2023.