Education Category: Deirdre Querney, M.S.W., Alcohol, Drug & Gambling Services in Hamilton Ontario and Iris M. Balodis, PhD., Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioural Neurosciences, McMaster University

According to Marc Potenza, MD, PhD, Yale School of Medicine, who nominated Dr. Balodis and Ms. Querney for this award:

“Brain Connections is one of the most successful knowledge translation projects that I have ever seen. For instance, fourteen thousand people have visited the website and another thirteen thousand have seen the Driven to Gamble video on YouTube. It is easy to see the appeal. The Brain Connections material facilitates learning, is engaging, non-threatening, and accessible for a broad range of literacy levels.”                                                                                                                                       
It is rare for a scientist and clinician to collaborate at this level in order to create a knowledge translation project that teaches up-to-date science on the neurobiology of gambling disorder through a video that is engaging and accessible for a broad range of literacy levels.

The ICRG salutes Dr. Balodis and Ms. Querney for successful efforts to bridge the gap between science and practice.

The Scientific Achievement Award will be presented on Monday, Oct. 9, 2023, at the Awards Luncheon during the ICRG Conference on Gambling and Addiction.

Selection Committee:

Tammy Chung, PhD                                                                                                                                                                                          Director, Center for Population Behavioral Health Professor of Psychiatry Rutgers
State University of New Jersey
Member, ICRG Scientific Advisory Board

James P. Whelan, PhD
Professor of Psychology
Director, Psychological Services Center
University of Memphis
2022 Recipient of the ICRG Scientific Achievement Award

Katherine Spilde, PhD, MBA
Endowed Chair, Sycuan Institute on Tribal Gaming Professor

L. Robert Payne School of Hospitality & Tourism Management
San Diego State University
Member, ICRG Board of Directors

Year: 2023
Type: Scientific Achievement Award